August 07, 2020

புதிய பாராளுமன்றத்தில் பெண்களின் எண்ணிக்கை 8 ஆக குறைந்தது

புதிய பாராளுமன்றத்தில் பெண்களின் எண்ணிக்கை 8 ஆக குறைந்தது

Eight female candidates have been elected to the 9th Parliament of Sri Lanka via preferential votes secured in the General Elections 2020.

Three female representatives have been elected from the Ratnapura district alone.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna’s (SLPP) Pavithra Wanniarachchi and Muditha Soyza, and Samagi Jana Balawegaya’s (SJB) Thalatha Athukorale were elected from the Ratnapura district.

SLPP’s Rajika Wickremesinghe was elected from the Kegalle district in the Sabaragamuwa Province.

Sudharshani Fernandopille and Kokila Gunawardene representing the SLPP have been elected from the Gampaha district.

SLPP’s Geetha Kumarasinghe was elected from the Galle district.

Samagi Jana Balawegaya’s Rohini Kaviratne has been elected from the Matale district. 

However, the number of female representatives in Parliament may increase depending on the candidates nominated via the national lists submitted by political parties.

Female representation in Parliament has not surpassed 6.5% in the history of Sri Lanka.

During the 2015-2020 Parliament, female representation was 5.3% with 12 females elected among 225 members. (Newswire)

0 கருத்துரைகள்:

Post a comment